John Mayer Releases New Song, Announces Tour

Yesterday, John Mayer released “Shadow Days” to radio. The first single from his upcoming album, Born And Raised, Mayer has said the LP will have “organic cowboy guitar sounds.”

Mayer said he wondered, “What would it sound like if I wrote an album of cowboy songs on this guitar under the stars?”

Listen to “Shadow Days” after the jump.

At the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM), Rolling Stone reported that Mayer told press to expect more acoustic playing.

“I think it’s gonna be more organic, more natural lyrics and chords and artful simplicity,” he said.

Born And Raised is produced by Mayer and Don Was (Rolling Stones, B.B. King, Bonnie Raitt) and the title track will feature David Crosby and Graham Nash on backup vocals. Due for release on May 22, Mayer posted the track listing today on Tumblr.

1. Queen of California

2. The Age of Worry

3. Shadow Days

4. Speak for Me

5. Something Like Olivia

6. Born and Raised

7. If I Ever Get Around To Living

8. Love is a Verb

9. Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967

10. Whisky, Whisky, Whisky

11. A Face To Call Home

12. Born and Raised (Reprise)

Mayer will debut his new album with a performance at SXSW on March 17 before launching his first tour in two years April 9 in Indiana.


More From 98.7 AMP Radio - More Hit Music Every Hour

Tweet Or Delete
Rat & Puff

Listen Live